Setup Menus in Admin Panel

AWA Studios Announces NEWTHINK By Gregg Hurwitz

A “Black Mirror” for the Culture Wars, the 5-Issue Anthology from 

New York Times Best-Selling Author Gregg Hurwitz Launches June 1st 

March 17, 2022 – New York, NY – AWA Studios, the independent developer of bold and relevant stories from the world’s most outstanding artists, writers, and artisans, announced today its latest sci-fi anthology series, NEWTHINK. From The New York Times #1 international best-selling and award-winning writer, Gregg Hurwitz (WOLVERINE, PUNISHER) alongside an all-star team of artists each tackling a different issue, the original comic holds a dark mirror up to the modern world of technology and the culture wars. Featured artists in the 5-issue series include Mike Deodato Jr. (THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN), Ramon Rosanas (STAR WARS), Mike Choi (UNCANNY X-MEN), Keron Grant (FANTASTIC FOUR), and Will Conrad (THE FLASH). 

“Thirty years ago looking forward, we would find our life today to be unimaginable,” said Gregg Hurwitz, creator and writer of NEWTHINK. “Computers in our pockets. Devices we talk to. Self-driving cars. How would we render it in fiction? In a world this crazy, maybe we don’t have to write about the future to show the surreal. Maybe we can show the insane present in a different light. That’s what NEWTHINK is all about.” 

NEWTHINK is a science fiction comic set in a faraway world…that is actually the reality of living today in America. Much in the way that Star Trek transported 1960’s social upheaval to faraway planets or The Twilight Zone broadcast Cold War anxiety through the lens of monsters and aliens, this Black Mirror-style series continues a long tradition of using science fiction to underscore social commentary. NEWTHINK aims to examine the cultural and political polarization of the country and the technocrats that have driven us to extremes of thought that we need to present the present as something futuristic. Each story in the 5-issue anthology consists of unique characters and independant storylines that highlight these themes. 

“Gregg Hurwitz has the political bona fides to tackle the complex issues within NEWTHINK and the writing talent to make them entertaining for a wide audience,” said Axel Alonso, comic book creator and Chief Creative Officer of AWA Studios. “He’s got something to say and he knows how to say it. Additionally, the stable of incredibly talented artists each provide their own bold, visionary take on the material, making NEWTHINK a title that we’re very proud of at AWA.” 

Issue #1 of NEWTHINK will be available Wednesday, June 1st both digitally and in stores wherever comic books are sold. Following issues will be available on a monthly basis. For more information on NEWTHINK and other AWA Studios content, visit  

# # # 


AWA was founded by former Marvel executives Bill Jemas and Axel Alonso, and is chaired by Jon Miller. The company is backed by Lupa Systems, Sister and Lightspeed. Armed with some of the freshest and most critically-acclaimed graphic fiction in a generation, AWA has established itself as an industry leader in terms of its relationship with artists and writers by providing creators the freedom, incentive structure and editorial support to pursue their boldest, most original and socially relevant work. AWA has assembled a lineup of the world’s most renowned comic book talent, including such creators as J. Michael Straczynski, Frank Cho, Garth Ennis, Mike Deodato Jr., Christa Faust, and many more. With the formation of AWA Studios, the company is building a distinct array of new cutting-edge film and TV projects anchored in its burgeoning library of groundbreaking stories. Helmed by Hollywood veteran Zach Studin, AWA Studios recently announced its first project, Chariot, an event feature film, based on the AWA graphic novel by Bryan Edward Hill that Warner Bros. secured after competitive bidding for Joseph Kosinski (Top Gun: Maverick) to direct, with 21 Laps producing. 

For more information visit, AWA Studios on FacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube, and

March 17, 2022
© 2024 Gay League. Website design by Anton Kawasaki.